

LONDON BOROUGH OF BRENT

Minutes of the ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held on Monday, 24 May 2010 at 7.15 pm

PRESENT:

The Worshipful the Mayor Councillor Harbhajan Singh

The Deputy Mayor Councillor M Aslam Choudry

COUNCILLORS:

Adeyeye Aden Al-Ebadi Allie Arnold Ashraf Mrs Bacchus Baker Beck Beckman **Beswick** Brown Castle Butt Cheese Chohan S Choudhary Clues Colwill Crane Cummins Daly Denselow Gladbaum Green Harrison Hashmi Hector Hossain Hunter John Jones Kataria Long Lorber Mashari Mistry McLennan Mitchell Murray J Moher R Moher Naheerathan Moloney Ogunro Oladapo **BM** Patel CJ Patel HB Patel R Patel Powney Sheth Sneddon Steel Thomas Van Kalwala

The outgoing Mayor, Jim O'Sullivan was also present at this meeting.

Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from: Councillors Hirani, Leaman, Matthews, HM Patel and Ms Shaw

Brent Community Champions Awards

Prior to the formal business of the meeting the outgoing Mayor presented Brent Community Champions Awards to the following people in recognition of their outstanding voluntary service within the borough:

Alfred Totesaut Alia Coleman Ami Udeshi Bhavinbhai Patel Cassandra Cheng Christina Connolly Ezra Cohen Fatima Khalil Hairudin Sistek Nedim Mujcinovic Jasvinder Sawhney Jennie Doble Josie Warshaw* Meena Patel Minakshi Patel Dr. Peter Moore Rajnikant Somabhai Patel Ramesh Devani Samia El-Ali Mr Sharon Bennett Sylvia Wiseman Urmila Parbhu Zamira Ruspi

*this person was not able to attend and the Mayor presented her award to her representative.

1. To elect the Mayor of the Borough for the municipal year 2010/2011

The Worshipful the Mayor, Jim O'Sullivan, welcomed all Members present. He then called for nominations for the office of the Mayor of the Borough for the municipal year 2010/2011.

Councillor John nominated Councillor Singh and this was seconded by Councillor Beswick. The nomination was supported by Councillor HB Patel.

RESOLVED:

that Councillor Singh be and he is hereby elected, Mayor of the London Borough of Brent, for the municipal year 2010/2011.

Councillor Singh signed the statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Mayor.

The past Mayor, Jim O'Sullivan vacated the Chair which was taken by the newly elected Mayor.

The Mayor then thanked Members of the Council for his election and informed the Council that his charities for the year would be the Asian People's Disability Alliance, Shooting Stars Childrens' Hospice and St Luke's Hospice.

2. Appointment of a Councillor of the Borough to be Deputy Mayor. (An intimation will be received from the Mayor regarding the appointment)

The Mayor announced the appointment of Councillor Aslam Choudhary as Deputy Mayor of the London Borough of Brent for the municipal year 2010/2011.

3. Borough elections results - 6 May 2010

RESOLVED:

that the results of the borough elections held on 6 May 2010 be noted.

4. Votes of thanks

Councillor Arnold moved a vote of thanks, which was supported by Councillors Lorber and HB Patel.

RESOLVED:

that the Council place on record their thanks and regard for the outstanding public service rendered by the co-opted members, independent members, observers and others who have served on council committees, sub-committee, consultative committees, boards, governing bodies, resident associations etc during the past municipal year.

Councillor John moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor for his services to the community. Councillors Moloney, Lorber and HB Patel spoke on behalf of their groups and paid tribute to the work of Jim O'Sullivan during his year as Mayor.

RESOLVED:

that the Council records its appreciation of the outstanding service rendered by Jim O'Sullivan as Mayor of the London Borough of Brent during the past municipal year and for the manner in which he has presided over Council meetings. The Council also appreciates his attendance at a vast number of events and functions and his service to all sections of Brent's diverse community.

Jim O'Sullivan having been invested with the past Mayor's Badge thanked councillors for their tributes and reflected on his year of office.

5. Any urgent business

None.

The meeting closed at 8.45 pm

COUNCILLOR HARBHAJAN SINGH Mayor